XIII.—ADMINISTRATION.

PARLIAMENTARY REPRESENTATION.

Representation by Provinces.—The four original provinces of the Dominion were Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, which were given parliamentary representation according to Section 37 of the British North America Act, 1867. By Imperial Orders in Council the provinces of British Columbia and Prince Edward Island were admitted into the Dominion, the former on July 20, 1871, by Order dated May 16, 1871, and the latter on July 1, 1873, by Order dated June 26, 1873. An Act of the Dominion Parliament of May 12, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3), provided for the formation of the province of Manitoba out of Rupert's Land and the Northwest Territories, so soon as these should be admitted into the Dominion of Canada, which admission was effected by Imperial Order in Council dated June 23, 1870, taking effect on July 15, 1870. In consequence of doubts as to the legal validity of the Dominion Act of 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3), the Imperial Parliament passed an Act in 1871 (34-35 Vict., c. 28), making the Canadian Act valid and effectual.

Parliament of Canada.-The Parliament of the Dominion of Canada consists of the Senate with 96 members and of the House of Commons with 235 members, senators being appointed for life by the Governor General and members of the House of Commons being elected by the people. The ordinary legal limit of duration for each parliament is five years, but by Act of the Imperial Parliament (6-7 Geo. V., c. 19), passed June 1, 1916, and intituled an Act to amend the British North America Act, 1867, the duration of the 12th Parliament of Canada was extended until October 7, 1917. The 12th Parliament was dissolved by proclamation of the Governor General on October 6, 1917, and the 13th Parliament of Canada was elected on December 17, 1917. A Redistribution Act passed after each census readjusts the number of representatives in the House of Commons in accordance with rules laid down in Section 51 of the British North America Act, 1867, of the Imperial Parliament (30-31 Vict., c. 3). These rules provide that the province of Quebec shall always have a fixed number of 65 members, and that there shall be assigned to each of the other provinces such a number of members as will bear the same proportion to the number of its population (ascertained by the census) as the number 65 bears to the population of Quebec. However, by an amendment to the British North America Act passed by the Imperial Parliament in 1915 (5-6 Geo. V., c. 45), it was enacted that "notwithstanding anything in the said Act, a province shall always be entitled to a number of members in the House of Commons not less than the number of senators representing such province." As a consequence of this amendment the representation of Prince Edward Island has remained at 4 members.